1. Home
  2. The Basics
  3. Facebook Authorization

Facebook Authorization

For existing customers, as of October 1st, 2019, it is not required to complete Facebook Authorization to monitor Facebook Recommendations. To monitor Facebook Recommendations, Edit Sites Monitored for Reviews.

To reply to Facebook Recommendations via GatherUp you must complete Facebook Authorization. If you have previously completed Facebook Authorization, re-authorization is required to enable replies.

Complete Facebook Authorization for GatherUp

Before you begin...

Users

  • You must have an Admin Page Role of the Facebook business page you wish to monitor. If you are unsure what role you have, go to your Facebook account and select the business page. Then click Settings at the top of the page and select Page Roles from the left hand column. If you do not have an Admin Page Role, someone who is a page Admin will have to update your role as Facebook instructs in How do I manage roles for my page?

Digital Agencies & Resellers

  • You must have been added as a Partner and assigned an Admin Page Role in Business Manager for the Facebook business page you wish to monitor by the Admin that is the owner of the business. If you are not a partner or do not have an Admin page role, the owner of the business can update your role as Facebook instructs in Add or Remove a Partner in Business Manager.
  • Facebook authorization is done at the client level.
  • Facebook authorization is available for white-label accounts.

To complete Facebook Authorization for GatherUp, follow these steps:

  1. Log in to your GatherUp account.
  2. For Agency/Reseller accounts using Agency Dashboard, you must first select a client.
  3. Go to Account Owner > Authorization Settings.

4. You must have an Admin page role in Facebook for the business page you wish to authorize. Click Log in With Facebook.

5. Complete the set-up wizard. Log in or verify your identity to continue.

Select the page(s) you want to use with GatherUp. Click Next.

Review the permissions granted to GatherUp. Click Done.

You have now linked GatherUp to Facebook to successfully complete Facebook Authorization. Click OK.

6. When the Facebook Authorization set-up wizard has been completed, you will be returned to GatherUp to view a summary. Review and click Done.

7. Facebook Authorization is complete. To view authorized accounts or issues with locations in your account not connected to a Facebook page, click View Details.

8. If you have added a location to your account and wish to complete Facebook Authorization for the new location, repeat the process.

Remove Facebook Authorization for a Single Location

To remove Facebook Authorization for a single location in GatherUp, follow these steps:

  1. Log in to your GatherUp account.
  2. For Agency/Reseller accounts using Agency Dashboard, you must first select a client.
  3. Go to Account Owner > Authorization Settings.

4. In Facebook Authorization, click View Details. Click Manage > Remove for the location you wish to remove authorization for.

5. The location will now show as Not Connected.

Remove Facebook Authorization for GatherUp

To remove Facebook Authorization for GatherUp and all locations connected through your Facebook account, follow these steps:

  1. Log in to your Facebook account.
  2. Go to Business Integrations. In Active, select GatherUp and click Remove.

3. Confirm you request by clicking Remove again.

4. Facebook Authorization for GatherUp has been removed. Click Done.

Updated on November 6, 2019

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles